Canon Experience Day in New Forest

Couple weeks ago, I saw a post about Canon touring the country with Tim Parkin and David Clapp, doing experience days in various locations to let people try out the new 5DS and 5DSR. I thought it would be a fun day out and also because it was a place I have never been, I signed up for the one in New Forest.

It was a bigger turn out than I expected with about 15 people. Luckily they had plenty of camera bodies and lenses for everyone to use. I ended up using a 5D Mk III and a 5DSR with the new 24-70mm f/2.8 II throughout the day. But they also had 5DS, 6D, 1DX with 17mm TS-E, 24mm TS-E, 14mm f/2.8, 11-24mm f/4, 16-35mm f/4 IS, 24-70mm F/4 IS, 50mm f/1.2, 70-200mm f/2.8 IS II.

315B8331

It took a bit of getting used to 5D bodies after using 6D for so long. Probably biggest difficulty for me was to go back to using the separate joystick. Larger DOF preview button in both bodies is a welcome change compared to the 6D. I also learnt few new tricks thanks to David Clapp giving us a little tutorial before setting us loose.

315B8352

I wanted to find some silver birches to shoot for a while now and never came across them for some reason. Well this place has plenty of them so I must return when the weather is slightly better.

The weather was mostly dull grey with occasional drizzle, so light was pretty flat all day.  I am not particularly technical when it comes to the cameras, so I am not going to show you underexposed images pushed 5 stops, or corner crops etc… What i found was, both cameras were joy to use – both 5D Mk III and 5DSR have very similar user interface with 5DSR having few more bells and whistles (built-in timelapse intervalometer!). For the images I took throughout the day, I saw no limitations from either camera – yes it was a flat light day, but that’s real-life use for you… Not every scene is shooting towards a bright sunset. Plus, both cameras ended up getting soaked in drizzle all day with no sign of problems..

_MGL0005

Green Forest – this little section of the woodland was amazing with moss covered trees rising above a red carpet of leaves.. Just needed a bit of fog 🙂

315B8342

I saw these in a small stream while walking around and ended up spending quite a bit taking pictures of them. Funnily, I like the first image I took most… 

315B8360

Reds, Greens and Yellows everywhere…

Obviously, the detail from the 50mp sensor is simply amazing. Sadly in this day and age when we mostly post our images online, there isn’t much difference between 50mp and 2mp… I would love to spend more time with this camera and take a picture to print big to see the real benefit… The other main advantage of the 50mp is the ability to crop quite heavily to improve reach and still have a decent size.

Bit of a shame with the weather on the day, but it was still a nice day out playing with new gear, catching up with few friends and meeting new people. Half a day or a day is never going to be enough to truly test a camera but it is miles better than playing around with a camera in a store. I appreciate Canon for organising such event – if nothing else, it improves brand loyalty… Maybe other manufacturers can learn a thing or two and do something similar?

Leave a Reply

